Alex Salvini dominates British Sprint enduro

Italian wildcard rider Alex Salvini has claimed a double Elite class victory at rounds seven and eight of the Husqvarna ACU British Sprint Enduro Championship held at Enduroland, Adstone. Heavy overnight rain before the event ensured conditions were anything but easy, as the championship witnessed its first true mud race of 2012. Thankfully, better weather during round eight saw the course quickly dry out offering competitors near perfect race conditions for round eight.

Click for bigger pics

Arriving in Adstone as a last minute entry, Husqvarna mounted Salvini wasted little time in getting to grips with the muddy conditions. Immediately setting the fastest time during the opening lap the Italian opened up a ten-second advantage in the Elite class. Improving his pace throughout the day the EWC regular eventually topped round seven by over 20 seconds.

Following a slow start, championship leader Electraction TM’s Jordan Rose soon found his way into second place. Beginning to match Salvini’s pace during the final few laps, Rose ended round seven in second place overall. Finding the slippery conditions to his liking, KTM’s Daryl Bolter fended off a late charge by Tom Church (KTM) to place third. Crashing numerous times during the early morning special tests, Church recovered well to place fourth while KTM’s Jamie Law featured strongly on his BSEC debut ride to finish fifth.

With conditions greatly improved at round eight, Salvini placed second to Bolter after the first lap. Upping his pace for the remainder for the day, the Italian set the fastest time in the rest of the day’s six special tests to secure his second win of the weekend. Feeling much more confident in the improved conditions, Church started round eight in determined fashion. Battling with Bolter during much of the day for the runner up position, Church overcame a crash on the penultimate lap to secure second. With Bolter finishing third, Rose fought back from a technical problem on lap two to end his day fourth, just five tenths of a second behind Bolter. Husaberg’s Simon Wakely put in a solid ride to place fifth.

In the Under 23 class Husaberg’s Alex Rockwell delivered an impressive ride at round seven to claim his second win of the series. Quickly adapting to the rutted conditions, Rockwell headed the highly competitive Under 23 class to finish first. Chasing him home for second, KTM’s Jonny Walker placed just 20 seconds behind the Husaberg rider. Enduring a crash filled morning Gas Gas’ Danny McCanney lost touch with the leading two, ending his day in third. Husqvarna’s Jack Rowland was fourth with Lewis Belfield (KTM) rounding out the top five.

At round eight it was Walker that lead the way throughout most of the day. Gaining time on the tricky extreme section, Walker looked assured of his third win of the series until a crash during the final lap of the weekend pushed him back to second. Capitalising on Walker’s mistake, championship leader McCanney sneaked through to inherit the win. Unable to repeat his result from round seven, Rockwell finished in third. Rowland again secured fourth while Belfield placed fifth.

Recording his eight consecutive win of the season, KTM’s Steve Holcombe was duly crowned the Under 19 BSEC champion. Mastering the wet and muddy conditions at round seven, Holcombe won all but one of the day’s eight tests to win his class by over three minutes. Behind him, KTM’s James Dent and Husqvarna’s Robert Johnson battled hard for the runner up position. Improving his pace towards the end of the day, Dent beat Johnson by five seconds to steal the runner-up spot. With Johnson third, early pace setter Aaron Smith (Husaberg) placed fourth with Stuart Owens (Yamaha) in fifth.
At round eight Holcombe repeated his winning result while Kawasaki’s Joe Wootton improved on his round seven performance to place as runner up to Holcombe. Johnson claimed third pushing Dent back to fourth with Owens rounding out the top five.

Brad Freeman continued to be the rider to beat in the 125 Youth Cup. Clearly enjoying the muddy conditions at round seven, Freeman placed nearly four minutes ahead of his nearest rival to secure victory. Josh Gotts (TM) ended round seven 20 seconds in front of KTM’s Lee Sealey to place second. With Sealey third, Luke Flack (TM) finished fourth with Jack Staines (Yamaha) completing the top five.

Freeman once again headed his class at round eight as he recorded his second victory of the weekend. Behind him, Gotts, Sealey and Flack fought for the runner-up position. After almost 70 minutes of racing, Sealey beat Gotts by five seconds to claim second. With Gotts third, Flack and Scott Altass (Husaberg) rounded out the top five.

Husaberg’s Tyson Maytom-Jones was on top form at round seven to win the Expert class. Making a slow start, KTM’s Oliver Hart ended his day in second finishing 20 seconds in front of third place Richard Ely (KTM). Jack Lee (Gas Gas) and James Jackman (Honda) rounded out the top five.

At round eight, Maytom-Jones once again led the way. Fastest on the opening three tests, the Husaberg rider opened up a 25-second advantage over Ely to secure victory. With Ely improving to second, Hart placed third. Daniel Beaven (KTM) delivered a strong ride to place fourth while Lee completed the top five.

In the Clubman class TM’s Gethin Francombe headed the standings at round seven when he claimed victory by almost three minutes from Richard Topping (Honda) in second. With Jason Corden (KTM) placing third, Aaron Martin (KTM) and Carl Bale (KTM) finished fourth and fifth respectively.

At round eight Francombe once again secured victory though this time his margin of victory was much tighter. With the duo separated by less than one second entering the seventh and final test, Francombe set his fastest time of the day to secure victory. With Lappin finishing second, Topping placed third with Martin Rowan (KTM) and Corden rounding out the top five.

Jane Daniels clinched the Women’s class championship with a commanding double victory at Enduroland. Winning all of the eight special tests at round seven, she comfortably placed ahead of Rhian George (KTM), Katie Walker (KTM) and Liz Childerley (Gas Gas).

With Daniels easily winning round eight, Walker beat George to claim second place with Childerley and Stephanie Rowe (AJP) rounding out the top five.

The Husqvarna ACU British Sprint Enduro Championship concludes with rounds nine and ten at Canada Heights on June 16/17.